In a troubling world, it helps to focus on the positive things that exist. Like Corbin Bernsen’s snow globe collection and red paperclips.

What I have been looking at online lately:

A scientific breakthrough… You may never need to worry about dropping your iPhone in water ever again….. Never fear, Never Wet is here!

Never Wet

Also, I started following an amazing woman on her journey through weight loss surgery:

Incredible Shrinking Stephanie

And, finally, I am about 7 years late on this, but it is so super amazing I will probably come back and read it again for many years to come:

One Red Paperclip My favorite part of this story is the bit with Corbin Bernsen and snow globes. Oh, and the part where this dude traded a red paperclip for a house. But most of all, the motivating role his lady played. If you watch the awesome slide show on oneredpaperclip, you’ll know what I mean (because to me, nothing is sexier than someone who wants to do something amazing for their significant other!).

I often let the troubles of the world get me down, then I read about positive things, and it’s nice to shift the focus, and realize that there is joy out there, and great things to work towards.

(UPDATE on 8-1-13: I always want to remember the part of the Red Paperclip story in which the dude’s father challenges him with the question, “What would you do if you weren’t afraid?”)

6 thoughts on “In a troubling world, it helps to focus on the positive things that exist. Like Corbin Bernsen’s snow globe collection and red paperclips.

  1. It’s so easy to forget the joy when you have so much negativity thrown at you! Way to keep it happy!

    Hugs!

    Valerie

  2. I don’t know why I’ve not heard of the One Red Paperclip, but that’s completely awesome! I think I have to buy that book now.

    And I also went to Stephanie’s blog.

    Both things made me happy 🙂 So well done, you!

Leave a Reply

