A kind of crying that felt sort of awesome.

“Are you okay?” Hubby runs into the room, his face crinkled with worry.

Sniffle. Sniffle. “I’m fine.” I wipe my face with my shirt sleeve, drying a tear (and, thankfully, not getting snot all over myself). “This book is just so good!”

“Okay… Um, let me know if you need anything, I guess?”

“I’m good, thanks,” I whimper, then reach for a tissue…

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green.

I don’t know if a book has ever caused me to cry before. And I wasn’t crying because I was sad, although there were some parts during which I was sad. I was crying because I was just so damn moved. A kind of crying that felt sort of awesome.

The element that I appreciated the most in this book: The characters’ voices.

Teenagers.

But smart, witty, down to Earth teenagers. Teenagers who appreciate a mix of activities, from video games, to intellectually stimulating reading. Teenagers with interesting and witty views of the world and their own worlds. A book about teenagers with no keggers or pep rallies in it. That fact alone was kind of refreshing.

Anywho, I will not go into a  summary of what the book is about (because any attempt on my part could not do justice to Mr. Green).But I can say this: If you enjoy smart, witty humor, if you enjoy being moved, if you enjoy experiencing love in its many forms, then I recommend this book to you as a good read.

May snot flow freely from your face,

Punky.

14 thoughts on “A kind of crying that felt sort of awesome.

  1. I’ve been debating about this book. Good to know. I’ll add it to my ridiculous book list and will hopefully get to it before I die. 🙂

Leave a Reply

