You Didn’t Know You Wanted to do This Before You Die

Lots of people have bucket lists.

I thought of something different to try. Except I don’t know what to call it. 

The idea is this: A list of things I have oddly and unaware-ly been able to do or experience, that perhaps if I would have known they could happen, I would have put them on a bucket list.

Wait. Does that even make fracking sense?

Basically, instead of getting depressed about things that I keep adding to my bucket list that may never happen, I want to feel happy about special things I have experienced already. Yeah, that’s it!

I totally want to hear some of yours! Whether it is on your bucket list, or your other list of which I don’t know what to call it yet. (Any name suggestions for said list?)

  • Fell in love.
  • Met Ann Martin.
  • Enjoyed a giant hand chair as a desk chair.

DCP_6274

  • Tried a bunch of really stupid stuff that didn’t work out, like attempting to move to New Orleans on a canoe. (Please don’t ask.)
  • Saw the Grand Canyon.
  • Had a nose ring. (A look that I totally was not cool enough to pull off.)
  • Smoked a cigar with my dad on my 18th birthday.
  • Got a comment on my blog from Jill Mansell.
  • Found out about Peg Leg Bates, who was a one-legged tap dancer. I used to lay down some iron, you know, do some hoofin’, and I would sometimes imagine that I would loose a leg, but still stick to my tap dancing craft and become a famous one-legged tap dancer. So when I found out about dear old Peg Leg not long after my fame fantasy started, I felt super psychic.

20 thoughts on “You Didn’t Know You Wanted to do This Before You Die

  1. I always wanted a nose ring… But unfortunately after the belly button ring fiasco of 1995 (where I had an allergic reaction to the metal in the ring and it got horrifically infected), I thought better of it.

    Also, I want that hand chair. So. Friggin. Hard.

    Hugs!

    Valerie Nunez and the Flying Platypi

  2. I was totally ok with the nose stud and navel piercing, but my tongue gave me the most fits. LOL…And I kept it because I didn’t know how much I loved it till I got it. 🙂

    Other items on my “I had no idea I wanted to do this list” are: Get married – for the THIRD time, have more than 2 dogs living with me at more than one time (I have 7, actually, and wouldn’t change a thing).

    Yeah…I think that pretty much covers it. Not very daring, I know, but I lead a boring life. Well, unless you count the drama brought into it by adult children. LOL…

  3. Aww.. I love it. You do have some interesting stuff on that list. Moving in a canoe. If there is a blog with this story please send me the link. I am fascinated. And well, who doesn’t love a yellow hand chair. I’m just sayin’. 😉

    • Haha! Everyone should feel what it’s like to have a giant grab one’s ass.
      There is no post yet about the attempted move in the canoe, but I’ll let you know if I ever write one!

  4. Life List | surprisemama

  5. My bucket list is kind of boring I guess. I’d like to be smoke free, hang around long enough to see all 7 kids get married and give me grandchildren and I’d like to feel completely loved, adored and cherished by my husband one day when he wakes the heck up! LOL

Leave a Reply

