“Get them off of me! They are everywhere!”

So creeped out tonight.

Thinking about bugs.

Yuck!

But they make the world go round, or something like that. (What saying did people use when they thought the world was flat? Did they say, ‘love makes the world drift off into the horizon?’ or, ‘music makes the world be flat?’)

Soleil Moon Frye as Punky

Soleil Moon Frye as Punky (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Anywho, back to the creeped out things. I wanted to read ‘James and the Giant Peach‘ again as an adult. Because that sounds like it would be as much fun as the time I watched episodes of ‘Punky Brewster‘ as an adult (no relation) after not seeing the show for 20 years. But did you know that book has a centipede character? Nooooo! The thought of nostalgic reading being fun escaped my mind and I slammed the book back on its shelf.

Tonight it rained — that wonderful first hard spring rain that makes everything smell wonderful, and then when you return home from being out in that wonderful rain, your home smells like ass because everything smells like ass when you smell it right after smelling fresh spring rain.

For some reason, while driving home in this rain and looking out over the grassy lawns that have been snow covered for so many months, my mind flashed to silly movies made about the lives of bugs (like, ‘Ants’) and how they really do have entire civilizations that we just don’t see. I thought of all of those squirmy wormies everywhere and how the planet needs them to live and thus so do we but how they gross me out and they are everywhere by the gazillions with there too many legs and oh my god how can I ever be comfortable anywhere again ever.

Sometimes I fear I will end up in an institution in a tiny white room swatting at my arms repeating, “Get them off of me! They are everywhere!”

It doesn’t help that when we bought our house many moons ago, we discovered after moving things and ripping things up, that it was infested with centipedes. My nightmare come to life (like the dude in ‘1984’ with the rats). I still wake up in the middle of the night sometimes, afraid that one might fall on me from the ceiling as I sleep. Because those f*ckers are nocturnal (I did research on those assholes. Know your enemy!)

But enough about that. It is late and I am off to bed.

Sweet dreams,

Punky

8 thoughts on ““Get them off of me! They are everywhere!”

  1. I can handle almost any bug, and spiders don’t bother me at all. But centepedes?! Forget it. I freak completely out. My house isn’t infested with them, but I do have them in the basement sometimes. But the best part? My lovely cats love to catch them and BRING THEM UPSTAIRS! Why would they do this? To torture both the centepede and me??

  2. I live in Nigeria now. Don’t even get me started on the size and speed of the bugs here. They fumigate monthly through the air vents, which, I’m pretty sure, is the way Resident Evil started. Still better than bugs.

Leave a Reply

