You Have to do What Works Best for You.

I went on a cupcake diet.

What?

That’s right. A cupcake diet.

Yo-yo diets are a big part of my muffled health past. I recently decided, screw it. I am no longer going to try to loose weight, but instead make an effort to change habits that will positively affect me in the long run.

Thus, the cupcake diet was born. About once a week, I go to the most amaze-balls cupcake shop ev-a and enjoy. I don’t kick myself in the ass or feel guilty. Instead, during the week when I feel like a good old fashioned binge after a stressful day at work, I think about my weekend cupcake, and find myself able to make better choices.

Okay, so the cupcake diet name in itself is really a joke. I mean, I am aware that it  sounds like just another yo-yo. But it is more of the mindset part that is working for me. The biggest part of my health problem is binge eating, and this is a way for me to work through that and form new habits.

And if I have learned anything when it comes to my health, is that I have to do what works for me.

For Christmas, my sister thought a great gift idea would be a Weight-Watchers online membership (wait, did I just get called fat for Christmas? Just kidding, sis, you know I love you).

DSC00111[1]

(Above: my half-eaten cookie dough brownie from the best cupcake shop on the planet)

Here is my problem (problem, or something that makes me awesome, it’s a perspective thing): when someone tells me to do something, I always want to do the opposite. Translation: So, Weight-Watchers, you are telling me I can only eat this many points? Well, I’ll show YOU how many points I can eat in a day!

And poof. One month on Weight-Watchers and I have undone so many good habits I spent the past 2 years developing!

I guess this is one of those examples of sometimes in life you learn what doesn’t work for you, and that can be as important of a lesson as what does work for you.

I know my habits changing thing was working, because when I weighed myself for Weight-Watchers, I was down 20 pounds since the last time I weighed myself 6 months ago (oh yeah, I would rather loose 20 pounds in 6 months or even a year, and then be where I want to be in 5 years, and be able to stay in that place for the rest of my life, rather than do another yo-yo and put everything back on in a few months).

You just have to do what works best for you.So I will nod and smile when my sister asks how Weight -Watchers is going. But secretly, I am rebelling and going back on my cupcake diet.  I am trying to change life-long habits, and doing what works best for me.

Related articles

17 thoughts on “You Have to do What Works Best for You.

  1. I did something similar to this once years okay. I called it the Rocky Road Ice Diet. Just replace cupcakes with ice cream and you’ve figured it out. It worked well for me.

  2. I agree completely about doing what works for you. For me, the challenge is that “what works” has a tendency to change over time, so I constantly have to reevaluate what I’m doing.

  3. Love your plan! After years (and years) of dieting, I lost 50 lbs a couple of years ago during a personal emergency (divorce). (Actually it’s more like 300 when you count in my ex and former friend).
    Anyhoo…I haven’t dieted since (just exercised regularly and treated myself with love). Then a friend told me about Paleo eating, and I read a couple of books on it. Had about 3 days of crazy eating just because I flirted with a DIET. No more DIETS for me…they make me fat!

    Cupcakes rule!

Leave a Reply

